State Acupuncture CEU Requirements

Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements

Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements by State

 

Alabama

An acupuncturist in Alabama is required to take 25 AMA Category 1 Credits each year between January 1-December 31st to renew their license. For more information on current AMA Category 1 Credits, please visit the board website at: http://www.albme.org/cme.html

 

Alaska

Alaska requires acupuncturists to complete 15 Acupuncture Continuing Education credit hours each year. For more information on acupuncture continuing education requirements, visit the board website at: https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/AcupunctureStatutes.pdf

 

Arizona

An Arizona licensee shall complete 15 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours each year. For more information regarding Arizona Acupuncture Continuing Education requirements, please visit the board website at: https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=http://www.azleg.gov/ars/32/03925.htm

 

Arkansas

Arkansas State Board of Acupuncture & Related Techniques requires that each acupuncturist complete 24 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years. 2 of those 24 hours must include a CPR course for professionals. For more information, visit the board’s website at: http://www.asbart.org/

 

California

The California Acupuncture Board requires acupuncturists to obtain 50 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years before the last day of their birthday month. Out of the 50 CEUs, only 25 may be obtained through distance learning, 25 must be live, and 5 out of those 50 must be business or practice management courses. For more information, visit the board’s website at: https://www.acupuncture.ca.gov/licensees/cont_ed.shtml

 

Colorado

The Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies requires acupuncturists to complete 60 PDA every four years. Out of the 60 hours, 26 must be in AOM Biomedicine, 2 must be in Ethics, and 2 must be in safety. Every four years you are required to complete a CPR course as well. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dora/Acupuncture

 

Connecticut

Acupuncturists in Connecticut must either complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years or they must maintain a certification by the NCCAOM. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://portal.ct.gov/DPH/Practitioner-Licensing–Investigations/Acupuncture/Continuing-Education

Delaware

Delaware acupuncturists must complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours biennially. Out of these 30 PDA points 15 must enhance core knowledge, skills, and abilities and shall be biomedicine and/or the five branches of oriental medicine (acupuncture, Chinese dietary therapy, Qigong, Asian bodywork therapy) and 4 must be in safety and/or ethics. For more information, visit the board website at: http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title24/1790.shtml

 

Florida

Acupuncturists in Florida are required to complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years before February 28, 2020. Out of those 30 hours, 21 must be in General Hours, 5 must be in Bio-Medicine, 2 must be in Medical Errors, and 2 must be in Laws & Rules. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://floridasacupuncture.gov/renewals/continuing-education-ce/

 

Georgia

The state of Georgia requires an NCCAOM Certification for your Acupuncture Continuing Education license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://rules.sos.ga.gov/GAC/360-6

 

Hawaii 

Hawaii requires that each Acupuncturist take the NCCAOM Examination for initial licensure. However, there are no Acupuncture Continuing Education requirements for license renewal. For more information, visit the board website at: https://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2018/12/18-06-Acupuncture-FAQs.pdf

 

Idaho

Acupuncturists in Idaho must complete 15 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every year. Out of the 15 hours, 10 hours of continuing education must be from Category I topics and a maximum of 5 hours of continuing education may be from Category II topics. For more information, visit the board website at: https://ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/BoardAdditional.aspx?Bureau=ACU&BureauLinkID=130

 

Illinois

Acupuncturists in Illinois are required to complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours before June 30th of every odd-numbered year. A maximum of 23 hours may be earned in self-study courses, such as online, correspondence, audio, or video. Herb courses do not count towards the 30 hours. For more information, please visit the board’s website at: https://www.idfpr.com/profs/Acupuncture.asp

 

Indiana 

Indiana acupuncturists are required to maintain their NCCAOM certification for their acupuncture license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.in.gov/pla/acupuncture.htm

 

Iowa

Iowa acupuncturists are required to maintain their NCCAOM Certification for their acupuncture license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://medicalboard.iowa.gov/acupuncture-licensure

 

Kansas

Please check the board website for upcoming information regarding Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements for Kansas. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.ksbha.org/professions/ACC.shtml

 

Kentucky

Kentucky acupuncturists are required to complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://kbml.ky.gov/ah/Pages/Acupuncture.aspx

 

Lousiana 

Louisiana accepts NCCAOM Certification for acupuncture license renewal. For more information, visit the board website at: https://www.lsbme.la.gov/licensure/acupuncturists

 

Maine

Acupuncturists must maintain NCCAOM Certification for licensure renewal, along with 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours biennially. Courses must be directly related to the knowledge and clinical practice of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/complementary/acupuncture.html

 

Maryland

Maryland acupuncturists must complete 30 hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education biennially. At least 20 of those 30 hours must be courses approved by organizations, such as the NCCAOM. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://health.maryland.gov/bacc/Pages/index.aspx

 

Massachusetts

Acupuncturists in Massachusetts must complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.mass.gov/committee-on-acupuncture-board-of-registration-in-medicine

 

Michigan

Michigan acupuncturists are required to maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_72600_72603_27529_45354—,00.html

 

Minnesota

Minnesota acupunturists are required to maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://mn.gov/elicense/a-z/?id=1083-231337#/list/appId//filterType//filterValue//page/1/sort//order/

 

Mississippi 

Acupuncturists in Mississippi are required to complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.msbml.ms.gov/Licensure/Acupuncturists

 

Missouri

Missouri acupuncturists must complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years, which must include precautions/infection control and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://pr.mo.gov/acupuncturist.asp

 

Montana

Licensees in Montana must complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://boards.bsd.dli.mt.gov/med

 

Nebraska

Licensees must complete 50 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education before may 1st of each odd-numbered year. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Acupuncture.aspx

 

Nevada

Licensees in Nevada must complete 10 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every year. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://orientalmedicine.nv.gov/

 

New Hampshire

Licensees in New Hampshire are required to maintain their NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/acupuncture/

 

New Jersey

New Jersey acupuncturists are required to complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years. Only 15 of those 30 hours may be completed in distance learning courses. Acupuncturists who are permitted to practice herbology must complete at least 10 hours of continuing education related to herbology as part of the 30 hours of CE. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/acu/Pages/default.aspx 

 

New Mexico 

Along with maintaining NCCAOM Certification, licensees are required to complete 15 Hours annually, or 60 hours every four years of Acupuncture Continuing Education for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/acupuncture_and_oriental_medicine.aspx

 

New York

For information regarding New York Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements, please visit the board website at: http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/acu/acupunlic.htm

 

North Carolina 

Licensees are required to complete 4o Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years before July 1st. For more information, visit the board website at: https://www.ncalb.com/

 

North Dakota

The State of North Dakota does not currently have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.ndbihc.org/our-story

 

Ohio

Ohio acupuncturists must maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://clients.ohiosbdc.ohio.gov/DocumentMaster.aspx?doc=2465

 

Oklahoma

The state of Oklahoma does not currently have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.oklegislature.gov/cf_pdf/1995-96%20INT/sb/SB795%20INT.pdf

 

Oregon

Oregon acupuncturists must complete 15 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education per year. For more information, visit the board website at: https://www.oregon.gov/omb/licensing/Pages/Acupuncturist.aspx

 

Pennsylvania

The state of Pennsylvania currently does not have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.dos.pa.gov/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardsCommissions/Medicine/Pages/Applications—Acupuncturist-(AK)-and-or-Pract-of-Oriental-Medicine-(POM).aspx

 

Rhode Island

Licensees are required to complete 40 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education biennially. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://health.ri.gov/licenses/detail.php?id=248

 

South Carolina

Licensees are required to maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.llr.sc.gov/POL/medical/index.asp?file=AcupunctureInfoPage.htm

 

South Dakota

The state of South Dakota currently does not have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website: https://doh.sd.gov/boards/

 

Tennessee 

Licensees are required to maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/health-professional-boards/ac-board.html

 

Texas

The state of Texas accepts 16 CAEs of NCCAOM approved courses for acupuncture license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.tmb.state.tx.us/page/acupuncture-board

 

Utah 

Licensees are required to complete 30 Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://dopl.utah.gov/acu/index.html

Vermont

Vermont acupuncturists are required to complete 30 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/acupuncturists.aspx

 

Virginia

Virginia acupuncturists must maintain NCCAOM Certification for license renewal. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/advisory/lac/

 

Washington 

The state of Washington currently does not have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://www.doh.wa.gov/LicensesPermitsandCertificates/ProfessionsNewReneworUpdate/EastAsianMedicinePractitioner/LicenseRequirements

 

West Virginia

Licensees are required to complete 48 Hours of Acupuncture Continuing Education Hours every two years. For more information, please visit the board website at: http://www.wvacupuncture.org/

 

Wisconsin 

The state of Wisconsin currently does not have any Acupuncture Continuing Education Requirements. For more information, please visit the board website at: https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/Acupuncturist/Default.aspx

 

Wyoming

Licensees must obtain 30 PDA points every two years. Out of those 30 hours, 4 must be from completing a CPR course, 15 PDA points must be in coursework related to acupuncture and East Asian medicine, and a minimum of 4 PDA points in ethics and safety. For more information, please visit the board website: https://acupuncture.wyo.gov/

×